Cutaneous LupusActivity and Damage Index

CLASI
Cutaneous Lupus Activity and Damage

Scores the skin disease of lupus across 13 body areas. Activity (0 to 70) and damage (0 to 56) are reported separately, as the authors intended.

Original instrument
Albrecht J, Taylor L, Berlin JA, et al.
Journal of Investigative Dermatology, 2005;125(5):889-894

Before you use this calculator

The CLASI is a clinician-scored research instrument for cutaneous lupus erythematosus. It is not a diagnostic test and does not replace examination. Read these limitations before relying on a score.

  • This is the original 2005 form. A revised version, the RCLASI, has since been published. This calculator scores the original CLASI as printed in the 2005 paper, so scores are not interchangeable with RCLASI scores.[1]
  • The 2005 paper gives no score cut-offs. The severity bands and the improvement threshold shown here come from a later single-center cohort study (Klein 2011), where one physician's subjective ratings served as the reference standard.[2]
  • Two scores, no total. The authors keep activity and damage separate on purpose, so a single combined score would hide scarring disease where activity falls as damage accrues.[1]
Show the other 10 limitations (13 in total)
  • Responsiveness was not tested in the original paper. The authors state it needed a prospective trial, and the paper reports content validity and reliability only. Later studies, including Klein 2011, address responsiveness.[1][2]
  • Small reliability study. 11 raters scored 9 patients at one tertiary center, and intra-rater reliability used 8 raters and 4 patients. Inter-rater ICC was 0.86 for activity and 0.92 for damage.[1]
  • Intra-rater drift in activity. Second ratings of activity were slightly higher, by 2.0 points on average (90% of raters). The authors called this statistically significant but clinically meaningless.[1]
  • Anatomical weighting. The head carries 33% of the area weight, deliberately higher than its share of body surface, and erythema drives most of the activity score. The score is not a body-surface-area measure.[1]
  • Worst lesion per area. Each area is scored by its single worst lesion, not by an average or by extent. Where scarring and non-scarring features share a lesion, score both.[1]
  • Symptoms are not in the score. Itch, pain, and fatigue were recorded separately by patients on a 1 to 10 scale and are excluded from both scores.[1]
  • Scalp scarring is scored once. The printed form marks the scalp row's scarring cell "see below." We score scalp scarring only in the 0 to 6 scalp box, which is our reading of the form. The paper does not state maximum scores; the maxima shown (70 and 56) are our arithmetic from the form.
  • Dyspigmentation doubling. The form says to double the dyspigmentation score when it usually lasts at least 12 months, while the methods text says more than 12 months. We follow the form.[1]
  • Band and response data are from one center. The bands came from 45 patient-visits in 37 patients and the improvement analysis from 74 patients (87 assessments) at one clinic, all rated by the principal investigator. Patients were not stratified by baseline severity or lupus subtype, and the authors note that mild disease may improve by fewer than 4 points while localized disease may never reach them.[2]
  • The improvement thresholds favor specificity. A 4-point decrease had 39% sensitivity and 93% specificity for clinical improvement, and a 20% decrease had 46% sensitivity and 78% specificity. Many true improvements fall below both thresholds.[2]

Sources: Albrecht J, et al. J Invest Dermatol 2005;125(5):889-894 (reference 1); Klein R, et al. Arch Dermatol 2011;147(2):203-208 (reference 2). Interpretations made by AutoimmuneCalc carry no reference number.

How to use it. For each body area, score the single worst lesion in that area. Activity scores describe active inflammation. Damage scores describe permanent change. Anything you leave at 0 counts as absent.

EErythema 0 absent, 1 pink or faint, 2 red, 3 dark red, purple, violaceous, crusted, or hemorrhagic
SScale or hypertrophy 0 absent, 1 scale, 2 verrucous or hypertrophic
DDyspigmentation 0 absent, 1 present
CScarring 0 absent, 1 scarring, 2 severely atrophic scarring or panniculitis

If scarring and non-scarring features coexist in one lesion, score both. Optional: enter the previous visit scores to see the change.

Activity: skin areas0 pts
Scalp
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Ears
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Nose (including malar area)
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Rest of the face
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
V-area of neck (frontal)
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Posterior neck and/or shoulders
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Chest
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Abdomen
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Back, buttocks
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Arms
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Hands
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Legs
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Feet
Erythema
Scale or hypertrophy
Activity: mucous membrane and hair0 pts
Mucous membrane lesions
Examine if the patient confirms involvement.
Recent hair loss
Within the last 30 days, as reported by the patient.
Alopecia, clinically not obviously scarred
Divide the scalp into four quadrants at the midline and at the line between the highest points of the ear lobes. A quadrant counts if it holds a lesion.
Damage: skin areas0 pts
Scalp
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Scored in the scalp scarring box below
Ears
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Nose (including malar area)
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Rest of the face
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
V-area of neck (frontal)
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Posterior neck and/or shoulders
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Chest
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Abdomen
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Back, buttocks
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Arms
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Hands
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Legs
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Feet
Dyspigmentation
Scarring, atrophy, panniculitis
Damage: scalp and duration0 pts
Scarring of the scalp
Judged clinically, by the number of scalp quadrants affected.
How long does dyspigmentation usually last?
Patient report. If it usually lasts at least 12 months, the total dyspigmentation score is doubled.

About the CLASI

Skin involvement is common in lupus, yet before the CLASI there was no validated tool for measuring how treatment changes cutaneous disease. The CLASI was built to fill that gap for clinical trials. A group of seven American dermatologists and rheumatologists and the American College of Rheumatology response criteria committee reviewed its content, and the final form was tested by five dermatologists and six residents who scored nine patients[1].

It is designed as one instrument for the main forms of cutaneous lupus, including discoid and subacute disease. Rather than measuring body surface area, which the authors found hard to reproduce, it records the intensity of involvement in 13 anatomical areas and weights the face and head more heavily because those sites matter most to patients[1].

How the scores are calculated

ScoreComponentsHighest possible
CLASI-A activityErythema (0 to 3) and scale or hypertrophy (0 to 2) in 13 areas, mucous membrane lesions (0 or 1), recent hair loss (0 or 1), and non-scarring alopecia (0 to 3)70
CLASI-D damageDyspigmentation (0 or 1, doubled if it usually lasts at least 12 months) in 13 areas, scarring or atrophy or panniculitis (0 to 2) in 12 areas, and scalp scarring (0, 3, 4, 5, or 6)56

Each score is a simple sum[1]. The highest possible values are our arithmetic from the printed form, since the paper states none. Itch, pain, and fatigue are not part of either score.

Worked example. The nose scores erythema 2 and scale 1, the chest scores erythema 1, mucous membranes are absent, the patient reports recent hair loss, and there is diffuse non-inflammatory alopecia. CLASI-A is 2 + 1 + 1 + 1 + 1 = 6.

Interpreting the scores

The 2005 paper defines no bands. A later single-center cohort study classified CLASI-A as follows[2].

CLASI-ASeverity in Klein 2011How the physician rated those visits
0 to 9Mild86% rated mild, 14% moderate, 0% severe
10 to 20Moderate20% rated mild, 70% moderate, 10% severe
21 to 70Severe0% rated mild, 33% moderate, 67% severe

The bands are a statistical fit, not sharp boundaries: the percentages above show how often the physician's own rating agreed. The same study found that patients judged improved had a mean CLASI-A decrease of 3.2 points or 18%, but a 4-point or 20% cut-off classified patients more accurately[2]. This calculator tells you whether each of those two thresholds was met when you enter a previous score. It does not label anyone a responder, and no bands exist for CLASI-D.

Common pitfalls

Averaging instead of scoring the worst lesion. Each area takes the score of its most severely affected lesion for each symptom, not an average across lesions.
Adding the two scores together. Activity and damage are reported separately by design. A combined number hides the shift from active to scarring disease.
Comparing across versions. RCLASI and other adaptations differ from the original form. Make sure both visits were scored on the same version.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CLASI?

The Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index is a clinician-scored instrument for the skin disease of lupus. Albrecht, Werth, and colleagues developed it at the University of Pennsylvania for clinical trials, and it gives two separate scores: one for activity (CLASI-A) and one for damage (CLASI-D).

How is the CLASI calculated?

For each of 13 body areas you score the worst lesion for erythema (0 to 3) and scale or hypertrophy (0 to 2) for activity, and for dyspigmentation (0 or 1) and scarring (0 to 2) for damage. Activity also includes mucous membrane lesions, recent hair loss, and non-scarring alopecia. Damage also includes scalp scarring, and the dyspigmentation score is doubled when it usually lasts at least 12 months.

What is the highest possible CLASI score?

The paper does not state maximums. From the printed form, activity reaches 70 and damage reaches 56 (43 without the dyspigmentation doubling). These totals are our arithmetic, not figures from the paper.

What is a mild, moderate, or severe CLASI activity score?

The original paper defines no bands. A later cohort study (Klein 2011) reported CLASI-A of 0 to 9 as mild, 10 to 20 as moderate, and 21 to 70 as severe. No bands are defined for the damage score.

How much must the CLASI activity score fall to count as improvement?

In the same study, a 4-point or 20% decrease in CLASI-A identified clinically meaningful improvement better than the mean change of 3 points or 18%. The authors chose them to favor specificity, so the thresholds miss many true improvements (the 4-point cut-off had 39% sensitivity and 93% specificity), and they may be too large for mild disease. Report which threshold you used.

Why are there two scores instead of one?

Scarring forms of cutaneous lupus lose activity as damage appears, so a combined score can stay flat while the clinical picture changes. The authors kept the two scores separate for that reason.

How was this calculator checked?

Items, weights, and rules were taken from Figure 1 and the methods of the source paper, then tested against hand-calculated cases for every scoring rule and boundary. The places where we interpreted the form are listed under limitations. The page was reviewed by Mahiar Rabie, MS, MD.

References

  1. 1Albrecht J, Taylor L, Berlin JA, Dulay S, Ang G, Fakharzadeh S, et al. The CLASI (Cutaneous LE Disease Area and Severity Index): an outcome instrument for cutaneous lupus erythematosus. J Invest Dermatol. 2005;125(5):889-894. doi:10.1111/j.0022-202X.2005.23889.x. PMID 16297185. Source of the form, scoring rules, and reliability data.
  2. 2Klein R, Moghadam-Kia S, LoMonico J, Okawa J, Coley C, Taylor L, Troxel AB, Werth VP. Development of the CLASI as a tool to measure disease severity and responsiveness to therapy in cutaneous lupus erythematosus. Arch Dermatol. 2011;147(2):203-208. doi:10.1001/archdermatol.2010.435. PMID 21339447. Source of the CLASI-A severity bands and the 4-point or 20% improvement thresholds.

Related calculators

Source and credit. The CLASI was developed by Albrecht, Werth, and colleagues at the Department of Dermatology, University of Pennsylvania. Credit for the instrument belongs to the original authors. This page is an independent educational implementation of the original 2005 form and is not endorsed by the authors or by the University of Pennsylvania.
For clinical decision support only. The CLASI is a research instrument and this calculator does not replace clinical judgment or specialist evaluation. See the medical disclaimer and editorial policy.

Page history. October 8, 2026: page published.

CLASI-A activity
0
of 70
CLASI-D damage
0
of 56
Activity: mild. Damage: 0
Activity bands from Klein 2011. No bands exist for damage.
Where the points come from
Activity
Erythema0
Scale or hypertrophy0
Mucous membrane0
Hair loss and alopecia0
Damage
Dyspigmentation0
Scarring (skin)0
Scalp scarring0
Reviewed by Mahiar Rabie, MS, MD · AutoimmuneCalc · Last reviewed October 8, 2026